Message sent from:
"Togetherness Inspires Growth"

Our curriculum

The documents below provide an overview of all areas of the curriculum across our federation. If you have a query about our curriculum, you can contact our Curriculum Lead, Mrs Lisa Appleton (Assistant Headteacher) via any of our school offices:

Kirk Hammeton CE Primary School: admin@kirkhammerton.n-yorks.sch.uk, 01423 330460
Long Marston CE Primary School: admin@longmarston.n-yorks.sch.uk, 01904 738352
Staveley Community Primary School: admin@staveley.n-yorks.sch.uk, 01423 340338

To find out more about the national curriculum, please follow the links below:

EYFS (Early Years Foundation Stage) curriculum

Key stage 1 and 2 curriculum

Visit our policies page to view our Teaching and Learning policy

You can view our Curriculum intent statement below:

Long-term curriculum plans

Long-term curriculum plans for each of the classes in our three schools can be viewed below.  Class details for 2023-24 are:

Kirk Hammerton: Ash class (Reception-Years 1), Willow class (Years 2-3) and Elder class (Years 4-6)
Long Marston: Cherry class (Reception-Year 1), Maple class (Years 2-3) and Birch class (Years 4-6)
Staveley: Apple class (Nursery-Reception), Oak class (Years 1-2), Beech class (Years 3-4) and Sycamore class (Years 5-6)

Early Years

The EYFS curriculum is based on the overarching principles that learning and development depends on each unique child having the opportunity to interact to form positive relationships within enabling environments.  It is divided into 7 areas of learning and development which are all interconnected and help shape the ‘whole child’.

The 7 Areas of Learning 

Prime areas:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development 
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development 

Specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design 

The Prime Areas of learning are three areas that are particularly important for building a foundation for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, forming relationships and thriving. The Specific Areas of learning are the four areas that underpin and strengthen the prime areas of learning.  

Characteristics of Effective Learning
We observe and support the children’s attitude and approach to learning by encouraging:

  • playing and exploring – children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’
  • active learning – children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements
  • creating and thinking critically – children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.

Progression tables for EYFS:

Curriculum overviews

Curriculum overviews for each class are shared with parents/carers on a termly basis.  You can download recent overviews below:

Summer 2024

Spring 2024

Autumn 2023

Summer 2023

Spring 2023

Autumn 2022

Hit enter to search